HEF Announces Hero in Education Award Recipients

HEF Announces Hero in Education Award Recipients

The Hammond Education Foundation (HEF) Board of Directors is proud to announce the 2021 recipients of our Hero In Education Award.

  • Wendy Bradford - ACC/District Wide Media Centers
  • Christina Drechsel - Clark Middle/High School
  • Jeffrey Swisher - Gavit High School
  • Katherine Broadnax - Hammond High School
  • Bertha Sosa - Morton High School
  • Latonia Phillips - Eggers Middle School
  • Mindy Sarlea - Gavit Middle School
  • Anamaria Smith - Scott Middle School
  • Melissa Pusateri - Edison Elementary School
  • Jackie Minkalis - Franklin Elementary School
  • Iris Day - Harding Elementary School
  • Sandra Barrera - Hess Elementary School
  • Grace Eenigenburg - Irving Elementary School
  • Patricia Casella - Jefferson Elementary School
  • Heidi Moore - Kenwood Elementary School
  • Wilma Vazquez - Lincoln Elementary School
  • Jennifer Schoon - Maywood Elementary School
  • Denise Geiser - Morton Elementary School
  • Angie Benevidez - O'Bannon Elementary School
  • Yvonne Nohos - Wallace Elementary School

A Hero in Education demonstrates the following criteria in support of our students, our teachers, our administrative staff, our buildings, and our school system:

  • Dedication, excellence, and selflessness that exceed basic job expectations
  • Civility, graciousness, professionalism, and a sense of doing what’s right and good within an environment/atmosphere that may be trying
  • Repeatedly going the extra mile in exhibiting job mastery, dedication, and professionalism
  • Contributions that, directly or indirectly, contribute to HEF’s mission of Supporting Extraordinary Learning Experiences to Help Students Succeed
  • Inclusion of job-related examples of anecdotal evidence.

Congratulations to all our 2021 recipients who work tirelessly daily to assist in the success of students throughout the K-12 public education process. HEF will honor these individuals on June 4 at Dynasty Banquets.